am india

IRISS 2017: 11th Inter-Research-Institute Student Seminar in Computer Science
January 20, 2017 (Kolkata)

In continuation with IRISS conferences held earlier (2002: IISc, 2003: IIT Delhi, 2004: IIT Bombay, 2005: IIT Kanpur, 2006: IIT Madras, 2007: IIIT Hyderabad, 2009: IIT Guwahati, 2014: IIT Delhi, 2015: BITS Goa, 2016: Trivandrum) ACM India announces IRISS 2017 that will be held on January 20, 2017 in Kolkata.

IRISS invites CS- research scholars in India to showcase their (published/accepted, attach proof of acceptance) work to a conclave of researchers and potential employers. The event hosts oral as well as poster presentations.The submissions will go through a program committee and selected papers will be invited for oral/poster presentation. Partial funding will be provided to the selected submissions.

As the event is co-located with the ACM India Annual Event 2017 where-in Turing Award winners are invited to deliver talks on their work, participants of IRISS get a unique opportunity to listen to them and interact with them.

Title: Online Scheduling
Speaker: Naveen Garg, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, IIT Delhi
Abstract: How do we make decisions without knowledge of the future?
How do you decide between paying Rs 1000 for the monthly membership to the swimming pool and paying-per- swim at Rs.100/swim? This talk will explore the area of "Online Algorithms" where the input to the algorithm is revealed one step at a time and the algorithm has to make decisions while hedging against the future. The lack of information - about the future - can often be offset by "resource augmentation" and we shall demonstrate this through examples from the world of scheduling.
Intro: Naveen Garg is a Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at IIT Delhi. He is one person who has had one of the longest associations with IIT. He joined the department in 1987 as an undergraduate student, completed his Ph.d. in 1994 from the same place and finally joined here as faculty in 1997. Before joining back his almamatar as faculty, he spent some time at MPI-Informatik, Saarbruecken as post-doc. His research focuses on designing approximation algorithms, combinatorial optimization and graph theory and he has published several papers of very high quality. Naveen was the co-director of the Indo-German Max-Planck Center for Computer Science (IMPECS). Recently, Naveen was awarded Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar award for his outstanding contributions in research in science and technology.

Detailed Schedule:
09:30 - 10:00 AM Inauguration
10:00 - 11:00 AM Keynote: Online Scheduling (Naveen Garg, IIT Delhi)
11:00 - 11:30 AM Tea Break
Paper Presentations by PhD Students
Session-I Session-II
11:30-11:45 AM Adjective Intensity and Sentiment Analysis, (Raksha Sharma, IITB) 11:30-11:45 AM Faster Algorithms for the Constrained k-means Problem, (Anup Bhattacharya, IITD)
11:45-12:00 PM An Optimal Algorithm for l1-Heavy Hitters in Insertion Streams and Related Problems, (Palash Dey, IISc, Bangalore) 11:45-12:00 PM Orthographic Syllable as basic unit for SMT between Related Languages, (Anoop Kunchukuttan, IITB)
12:00-12:15 PM Are Short Proofs Narrow? QBF Resolution is not Simple, (Anil Shukla, IMS, Chennai) 12:00-12:15 PM Improving GPU Performance Through Resource Sharing, (Vishwesh Jatala, IITK)
12:15-12:30 PM Are Word Embedding-based Features Useful for Sarcasm Detection?,(Aditya Joshi, IITB) 12:15-12:30 PM Parallel Reachability Analysis for Hybrid Systems, (Amit Gurung,NIT Meghalaya)
12:30-12:45 PM Biconnectivity, chain decomposition and st-numbering using O(n) bits, (Sankardeep Chakrabortyy, IMS Chennai) 12:30-12:45 PM Restricting Writes for Energy-efficient Hybrid Cache in Multi-core Architectures, (Sukarn Agarwal, IIT Guwahati)
12:45-01:00 PM Contextual Symmetries in Probabilistic Graphical Models, (Ankit Anand, IITD) 12:45-01:00 PM Static Energy Reduction by Performance Linked Dynamic Cache Resizing, (Shounak Chakraborty, IIT Guwahati)
01:00-01:15 PM Extreme Multi-label Loss Functions for Recommendation, Tagging, Ranking & Other Missing Label Applications, (Yashoteja Prabhu, IITD) 01:00-01:15 PM Tiny Directory: Efficient Shared Memory in Many-core Systems with Ultra-low-overhead Coherence Tracking, (Sudhanshu Shukla, IITK)
01:15-02:30 PM Lunch and Posters
02:30-03:30 PM Presentation by Doctoral Dissertation Award Winner Rohit Gurjar (IIT Kanpur). Thesis Title: Derandomizing PIT for ROABP and Isolation Lemma for Special Graphs
03:30-04:00 PM Tea Break
04:00-5:30 PM Industry Presentations

Important Dates:

Last Date for Submission:
October 05, 2016      Deadline Extended: October 15, 2016
Author Notification: October 25, 2016      Notification Date Extended: November 11, 2016
Format of Paper: Same as the Published/Accepted Paper. No specific format for IRISS.

Email ID:
Form: IRISS 2017 (You are also required to fill the form.)
Submission Closed.

Following is the list of candidates shortlisted for oral presentation:

1.   Raksha Sharma Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
2.   Palash Dey Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
3.   Anil Shukla The Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai
4.   Aditya Joshi Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
5.   Sankardeep Chakraborty Institute of Mathematical Sciences
6.   Ankit Anand Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi
7.   Yashoteja Prabhu Indian Institute of Technology Delhi
8.   Anup Bhattacharya Indian Institute of Technology Delhi
9.   Abhijit Mishra Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
10. Vishwesh Jatala Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur
11. Shahbaz Khan Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur
12. Anoop Kunchukuttan Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
13. Amit Gurung National Institute of Technology Meghalaya
14. Sukarn Agarwal Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati
15. Shounak Chakraborty Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati
16. Sudhanshu Shukla Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur

Following is the list of candidates for poster presentation. Poster size is A1 (23.39" x 33.11").
List of Candidates for Poster Presentation


Registration fees for IRISS 2017 is INR 1000 + service tax of INR 150/-. ACM India will be arranging free accommodation (for two nights 19th and 20th Jan 2017) for all the research scholars attending IRISS 2017. ACM will also provide a travel reimbursement of maximum INR 5,000 against actual tickets/vouchers/invoices. ACM India is also glad to provide free registration to all scholars for the ACM India Annual Event which is scheduled on January 21, 2017 (Details on

Pleas register on the below link (link will be active soon):


IRISS participants are requested to arrange their own travel for attending IRISS 2017 at Kolkata. ACM India will reimburse the travel claims at actuals subject to maximum INR 5,000/- per participant. Please submit your travel claim in the prescribed form (Reimbursement Form) along with copies of bills/tickets before leaving the venue.

TPC Members:

Neelima Gupta (DU, Chair) (
Naveen Garg (IIT Delhi)
A D Dileep (IIT Mandi)
Komondoor Raghavan (IISc)
Venkata Ramana Badarla (IIT Jodhpur)
Madhavan Mukund (CMI, Chennai)
Manisha Bansal (IP College, DU)
Bharat M. Deshpande (BITS, Pilani, Goa)