Honors/Awards/ Fellowships


Elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences (2015)


CRSI Bronze Medal in Recognition of Contributions to Research in Chemistry (CRSI Awards 2015)


Acharya J. C. Ghosh Memorial Medal (2016) of Indian Chemical Society


Elected Member of CRSI Council (2017-2020)


Elected Vice President (OS) of Indian Society for ElectroAnalytical Chemistry (2014-16)


J.Kaur, R. Kant, 2017, Theory for Potential of Zero Charge of Self Assembled Monolayer over Curved Metal Electrode (Poster), 23-25th December, 54th Annual Convention of Chemists (ICS-2017), Department of Chemistry, Uka Tarsadia University, Bardoli, Surat, Gujrat. (Professor S. T. Nandibewoor Award for Best Paper Presentation)


R. Kumar, S. K. Jha, V. K. Yadav and R. Kant, Theory of Diffusion Limited Impedance of Fractally Rough Electrodes (Poster), in abstracts 9-th CRSI National Symposium in Chemistry, 1-4 Feb. 2007, at Department of Chemistry, University of Delhi, Delhi - 110007. *Awarded Best Poster Award of the Symposium*


M. B. Singh and R. Kant, Electric Double Layer Model for Anomalous Capacitance of Nanostructured Supercapacitor (Poster), in Abstract First Indo-Italian Workshop on Frontiers of Fundamental & Industrial Electrochemistry: A Challenge for a Better World, 30th -31st Aug. 2010, jointly organized by Department of Chemistry, Univ. of Delhi & Embassy of Italy, New Delhi. *Awarded 2nd Best Poster Award of the Symposium*


S. Srivastav and R. Kant, Role of Surface Disorder & Uncompensated Resistence in Non Ideal Cottrellian & Anson Response (Poster), in abstracts Theoretical Chemistry Symposium (TCS 2010), 08-12 December, 2010, at Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, India. *Awarded Best Poster Award of the Symposium*


Md. M. Islam and R. Kant, Spectroelectrochemical Studies for EC Reaction Mechanism at Optically Transparent Electrode: A Roughness Perspective (Poster), in Abstract 14-th CRSI National Symposium in Chemistry, 2-5 Feb. 2012, jointly organized by NIIST and IESR, Trivandrum. *Awarded Best Poster Award of the Symposium*


S. Srivastav and R. Kant, Experimental Validation of Power Spectrum Based Theory of Electrochemical Response at Rough Electrode (Poster), in Abstract CRSI 2012 Mid Year Meeting, 21-22 July 2012, organized by CSIR- CDRI, Lucknow. *Awarded Best Poster Award of the Symposium*


M. B. Singh and R. Kant, Theory of Electric Double Layer Admittance of Partially Blocking Heterogeneous Rough Electrode(Poster), in abstracts Theoretical Chemistry Symposium (TCS 2012), 19-22 December, 2012, at Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati, India. *Awarded Best Poster Award of the Symposium*


N. R. Chowdhury, S. Dhillon and R. Kant, 2014, Influence of electrode roughness on electroanalysis with single current step chronopotentiometry (poster), in Eleventh ISEAC International Discussion Meet on Electrochemistry and its Applications, Eds. S.K.Aggarwal et al; ISEAC-2014, pp 117-118, Radisson Blu Hotel, Amritsar, Feb 20-25, 2014. *Awarded Best Poster Award of the Symposium*


M. B. Singh, Jasmin Kaur and R. Kant, 2014, Anomalous Capacitance in Sub-nano and Nano-structured Supercapacitive Electrodes, One Day Seminar on Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, March 14, 2014. *Awarded 2nd Best Poster Award of the Symposium*


R. Jaswal, M. B. Singh and R. Kant, 2016, Electric Double Layer Dynamics in Arbitrary Mesostructured Electrodes Embedded with Heterogeneous Micropores(Poster), 2nd National Conference on Materials for Energy Conversion and Storage (MECS-2016), 11-13 March, Department of Physics, Pondicherry University and Energy Science Society of India (ESSI). *Awarded Best Poster Award of the Symposium*


J. Kaur, R. Kant, 2016, Tuning Charge Transfer Kinetics Through Electrode Nano-structuring (poster), CRSI 2016, 5-7 February, 2016, Punjab University, Chandigarh.

*Awarded Best Poster Award of the Symposium*



Member of Professional Society: Society for Advancement of Electrochemical Science and Technology (SAEST), Indian Society for Electroanalytical Chemistry (ISEAC), Energy Science Society of India (ESSI), American Chemical Society (ACS).


Reviewer: Journal of Physical Chemistry, Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics, Langmuir, Electrochimica Acta, Applied Surface Science, Current Science, Proceedings of the Indian National Science Academy, Indian Journal of Physics, Indian Journal of Chemistry, Reports in Electrochemistry, Chaos, Solitons & Fractals, Process Biochemistry, J. Chem. Sci., J Electroanalytical Chemistry, Electroanalysis, ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces, Bulletin of Material Science, ChemPhysChem


Ph.D. Theses Reviewer: Indian Association for Cultivation of Sciences (IACS), Jadavpur University, Banaras Hindu University, Jamia Millia Islamia University, Nagpur University, Madurai Kamraj University, V.B.S. Purvanchal University, Alagappa University, IIT Roorkee, S. N. Bose Centre for Basic Sciences.


1994-95: Best Thesis (Dr. Srinivasa Rao Krishnamurty Medal, Electrochemistry and Electrochemical Engineering, IISc, Bangalore).

Electrochemistry at Complex Interfacial Geometries


``This is a first rate piece of work, of which the author can be justifiably proud. It clearly reflects both the competence and dedication of Mr. Kant, and the direction and guidance of his mentor, Prof. Rangarajan, undisputedly the world`s foremost theoretical electrochemist.


The model calculations are elegant and complete, and throw a new light on the effects of surface roughness, a problem of long standing and great practical importance in electrochemistry. The calculations provide an alternative to less precise description of the same effect in terms of fractals. The dissertation is written with obvious care: it is well organized, and carefully formulated and proof-read. In short, it is a joy to read. In my opinion it is of a level which, at leading U.S. universities, would qualify for the epithet ``cum laude`` or ``with distinction`` `` R. De Levie


1999-2001: University of Freiburg Fellowship, Germany.

1997- 1998: EPSRC Fellowship, U.K.

1995-1996: Ministry of Foreign Affairs (France) Fellowship, Paris.

1993-1995: J. N. Centre for Advanced Scientific Research Fellowship, Bangalore.

1986-1993: Indian Institute of Science Fellowship, Bangalore.