About Prof. R.P.Tandon
Research Interest
Lab Facilities
Distinctions and Awards
Distinguished Research Positions Held
Memberships of Professional Bodies
Photo Gallery
Contact Us
Photo Gallery


Distinctions and Awards

  1. "Scientific Advisor" to the Govt. of Haryana at Chandigarh, January-August 1996. This was the highest scientific position in state equivalent to a Secretary. Overall responsible for the growth of science in the state of Haryana with particular focus on the development of non-conventional energy in the state and to advice the Government.
  2. Served as a Scientist in the National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi from 1977-1997 as the Head of the Electroceramics Group.
  3. Member of the Lab Research Council of Laser Science & Technology Centre (LASTEC), New Delhi (2015-16).
  4. Governor's nominee-University of Jammu for period 2012-15, to participate in the selection process of Lecturer, Assistant Professor, Associate Professor and Professor.
  5. Chief Patron of Electron Microscope Society of India (EMSI), July 2012.
  6. MRSI-ICSC Superconductivity & Materials Science Annual Prize (2013).
  7. Recipient of national award on Ferroelectrics by Pandit Ravi Shankar University, Raipur.
  8. Member, Advisory Committee, Centre of Nanoscience & Technology Research (CNTR), Saurashtra University, Rajkot, Gujarat (2012-2015).
  9. Convener, Curriculum Committee for Physics for Senior Secondary Education, CBSE, New Delhi
  10. National Convener of e-Pathshala project, for postgraduate (Physics) courses, University of Delhi, sponsored by MHRD.
  11. National Scientific Scholarship by MHRD.
  12. Governing council member of Inter University Accelerator Centre (IUAC), New Delhi (2012-2014).
  13. Reviewer, various project review committee's like Defence Research and Development Organization (D.R.D.O.) and D.I.T etc.
  14. Chairman, Governing Body, Keshav Mahavidyalaya, University of Delhi (2014-2015).
  15. Governing body member for many prestigious Delhi University colleges e.g. St. Stephen, ARSD, and Delhi college of Engineering.
  16. Member, Board of Research Studies (BRS) under the Faculty of Technology.
  17. Expert member for Defence Research and Development Organization (D.R.D.O.), C.S.I.R, and various state and central universities.
  18. Ph.D. examiner of several IITs, central and state universities.
  19. Organized DST-PAC meeting at University of Delhi in September 2008.
  20. Organized Six CPDHE refresher courses in Physics and Electronics at University of Delhi.
  21. Coordinator, DSA-SAP (UGC).
  22. Organized two structured workshops at National Physical Laboratory (NPL) and University of Delhi.
  23. Member, Empowered committee of MNRE on solar energy funding to various institutes.
  24. Patent : Title - ‘Solar Water Distiller’, Patent Application 472/DEL/2013, India. Name of contributors: Prof. R. P. Tandon, Dr. (Mrs.) Swati Arora, Dr. Samta Goyal, Dr. Anuradha Marwah, Dr. Mohammad Fahim.
  25. Member, BOS of School of Sciences, IGNOU, New Delhi
  26. Member Board of Studies in Physics - Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra.
  27. Member Board of Studies in Physics- Indira Gandhi University, Meerpur, Rewari, 2015-.